Lighthouse of Manasota - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Lighthouse of Manasota
7318 North Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34243
(941) 359-1404 (Local)
(941) 359-2373 (Fax)
info@lighthouseofmanasota.org
http://lighthouseofmanasota.org/

Brief Description

The Lighthouse of Manasota was established in 1985 by a group of concerned citizens that were visually impaired in Sarasota and Manatee counties.

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday 9:00 AM- 4:00 PM.
Clients served on average per year: 500
Number of staff: 20
Staff description: Vision Rehabilitation Therapists Orientation & Mobility Specialists ACVREP Certified or Certifiable Assistive Technology Instructors
Geographic area served: Sarasota, Manatee, DeSoto, Charlotte, and Highlands Counties.

Staff

Judy Boylan, Assistive Technology Specialist, judy.boylan@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Latricia Gambrell, Vocational Rehabilitation Manager and Orientation and Mobility Instructor, latricia.gambrell@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Lisa Howard, Chief Executive Officer, lisa.howard@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Nicole Kissell, Vision Rehabilitation Therapist and Orientation and Mobility Instructor, nicole.kissell@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Elizabeth Krupnick, Development Manager, elizabeth.krupnick@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Sally Meyers, Rehabilitation Instructor, sally.meyers@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Elliot Natale, Assistive Technology Specialist, elliott.natale@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Randy Reed, Assistive Technology Instructor, randy.reed@lighthouseofmanasota.org
Madeline Spencer, Adult Program Manager, maddy.spencer@lighthouseofmanasota.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Assessment
    • Conducts pre- and post-rehabilitation assessment with case managers.
  • Assistive Products
    • Peepers Low Vision Store, which distributes a variety of low vision products such as portable video magnifiers, audio clocks, talking watches, cooking aids, bump dots for iPhones and braille pill boxes.
  • Audiodescription
    • Provides audiodescription services upon request.
  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • Offers training in alternative methods of reading and writing such as large print, writing guides and Braille to aid in identifying written material.
  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • Offers assistive technology training in iphone, ipad, android, computer, voice over and special computer programs and magnification.
  • Counseling
    • Provides counseling services by appointment with Tidewell.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides instruction in independent living skills and activities of daily living for seniors.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Provides job readiness training to clients with vision loss to enable them to more effectively seek, secure, and maintain employment.
  • Information and Referral
    • Provides information and referral to community resources.
  • Services for Seniors
    • Independent Living Adult Program provides training in life skills that promote self sufficiency and independence of people with vision loss..
  • Support Groups
    • Support Groups offer understanding and encouragement to both the clients and their families as they learn to put their new skills into daily life.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility training in the home and in the community based on clients goal.
Lighthouse of Manasota, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.