World Services for the Blind - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

World Services for the Blind
2811 Fair Park Boulevard
Little Rock, AR 72204
(501) 664-7100 (Local)
(501) 664-2743 (Fax)
(800) 248-0734 (Toll-Free)
training@wsblind.org
http://www.wsblind.org

Brief Description

The World Services for the Blind is accredited by NAC (The National Accreditation Council for Agencies Serving People with Blindness or Visual Impairment).

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:00 AM-4:30 PM.
Clients served on average per year: 200
Number of staff: 48
Staff description: Psychologist, licensed professional counselor, rehabilitation counselor, O&M instructor, rehabilitation teacher, special educator, psychiatrist, job skills instructors, job development/placement specialist
Geographic area served: National and International
Publications: New Life (quarterly electronic newsletter)

Staff

Shelly Atkins, Administrative Assistant Older Blind Program/NDBEDP, satkins@wsblind.org
Rachel Buchanan, Vice President of Rehabilitation Services, rbuchanan@wsblind.org
Sharon Giovinazzo, CEO, sgiovinazzo@wsblind.org
Andrea Hamilton, Director of Rehabilitation Services, ahamilton@wsblind.org
Doris Haralson, Director of Admissions, dharalson@wsblind.org
Melanie Jones, Director of Marketing & Communications, mjones@wsblind.org
Faberge Jones, Medical & Nutritional Services, fjones@wsblind.org
Cynthia Kiper, Director of Workforce Developement, ckiper@wsblind.org
Rebecca Reid, Director of Recruiting and Retention, rreid@wsblind.org
Yolanda Smith, Volunteer Coordinator & Housing Supervisor, ysmith@wsblind.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Counseling
    • Provides counseling and referral services, psychological testing, and psychiatric evaluation.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • The foundation of a healthy personal adjustment to blindness is comprehensive training and counseling provided on an individualized basis. Drawing from the comprehensive array of life skills services offered at WSB, a personalized training schedule is designed to ensure each person achieves a well-rounded and healthy personal adjustment to visual disability. Our philosophy maintains that effective and total rehabilitation can only be achieved in the therapeutic, multi-disciplinary environment of a comprehensive residential rehabilitation center. Comprehensive Life Skills Services - Techniques of Daily Living - Assistive Technology - Basic Communication / Adult Education - Braille - Low Vision - Keyboarding - Orientation & Mobility - IT Fundamentals - Small Business Training
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Provides vocational evaluation, job readiness, vocational training in 11 areas, job development and placement and follow-up services. -- Assistive Technology -- Assistive Technology Instructor -- Call Center Specialist -- Credit Counseling -- Desktop Support Technician I -- Desktop Support Technician II -- Microsoft Office Specialist -- Certified Administrative Assistant -- Voice Over at Work (VOW) -- College Prep -- Transitional Aged Youth -- Student Transitional Youth Learning Experience (STYLE)
  • Low Vision Services
    • Provides low vision evaluation and follow-up, as well as training in utilization of low vision devices.
  • Recreation Services
    • Provides leisure time activities.
World Services for the Blind, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.