Washington State School for the Blind - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Washington State School for the Blind
2214 East 13th Street
Vancouver, WA 98661-4120
(360) 696-6321 (Local)
(360) 737-2120 (Fax)
info@wssb.wa.gov
http://www.wssb.wa.gov/

Brief Description

The Washington State School for the Blind provides a large menu of services through a diverse service delivery model including: Intensive On-Campus Programs, Summer School Programs for children, Outreach Services which include direct/consultative Itinerant Services to Local School Districts, statewide assistive technology services, 5th year transitional program, Braille Production and Instructional Resource Center Services, Accessible Online Learning Services, Birth to Three Statewide Coordination, Research Development, Low Vision Clinic, Professional Development and State Vision Consultant Services.

Hours of operation: Monday-Friday 7:30AM-4:00PM. School year: On-campus 24/5 with students going home on weekends.
Clients served on average per year: 2,000
Number of staff: 100 full-time employees.
Staff description: Highly qualified staff certified in specific disciplines plus teachers of the visually impaired/Orientation and Mobility Instructors, support staff in various therapy areas, nursing/education services, residential/educational staff, braille production, and a full array of campus and outreach support.
Geographic area served: Primary area served - Washington. Also provide services to students from throughout the U.S. on a tuition basis based upon space available.
Publications: Lions Roar Newsletter published quarterly.

Staff

Anne Baker, Human Resources Manager, (360) 947-3311, anne.baker@wssb.wa.gov
Emily Coleman, Director of Outreach (WSSB) / State Vision Consultant (WSDS), (360) 947-3304, emily.coleman@wssb.wa.gov
Jennifer Fenton, Program Manager, Braille Access Center/Instructional Resource Center, (360) 947-3340, jennifer.fenton@wssb.wa.gov
Jennifer Langley, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, (360) 947-3353, jennifer.langley@wssb.wa.gov
Scott McCallum, Superintendent, (360) 947-3301, scott.mccallum@wssb.wa.gov
Sean McCormick, Director of On-Campus Programs, (360) 947-3308, sean.mccormick@wssb.wa.gov
Lori Pulliam, Director of Transition Services, (360) 947-3279, lori.pulliam@wssb.wa.gov
Mary Sarate, Director of Business and Finance, (360) 947-3314, mary.sarate@wssb.wa.gov
DeEtte Snyder, Birth-3 BVI Coordinator, (360) 947-3305, deette.snyder@wssb.wa.gov
Rob Tracey, Facilities Manager, (360) 947-3320, rob.tracey@wssb.wa.gov

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Braille/Electronic/Audio/Large Print Production
    • Braille Access Center offers transcription to braille services for a fee.
Washington State School for the Blind, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.