North Dakota Vision Services/School for the Blind - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

North Dakota Vision Services/School for the Blind
500 Stanford Road
Grand Forks, ND 58203-2799
(701) 795-2700 (Local)
(701) 795-2727 (Fax)
(800) 421-1181 (Toll-Free)
gbornsen@nd.gov
http://www.ndvisionservices.com

Brief Description

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:00 AM-4:30 PM.
Number of staff: 35
Staff description: Administrative, vision teachers technology specialists, O&M instructors, braillist.
Geographic area served: North Dakota and NW Minnesota
Publications: Reaching Out (newsletter), brochures.

Locations

1015 S Broadway Suite 21
Minot, ND 58701

SE Human Service Center
2624 9th Avenue, SW
Fargo, ND 58103

300 2nd Avenue NE
Suite 208
Jamestown, ND 58401-3373

418 East Broadway Avenue
Suite 228
Bismarck, ND 58501

Staff

Gary Bornsen, Assistive Technology-Blind, (701) 795-2712, gbornsen@nd.gov
Ken Dockter, Coordinator of Adult Services, (701) 795-2724, kdockter@nd.gov
Lori Foley, APH Coordinator - NIMAS Contact, (701) 795-2732, llfoley@nd.gov
Jane Glander, Volunteer Coordinator, (701) 795-2703, jglander@nd.gov
Kathy Grzadzielewski, Regional Coordinator-Devils Lake Region, (701) 795-2722, kgrzadz@nd.gov
Pam Haus, Vision Rehabilitation Specialist - NE North Dakota, (701) 795-2719, phaus@nd.gov
Pat Hill, Outreach Teacher, (701) 795-2718, phill@nd.gov
Deb Johnsen, Coordinator of Center-Based Programs, (701) 795-2721, djohnsen@nd.gov
Linda Kraft, Regional Coordinator-Fargo Region, (701) 298-4428, lkraft@nd.gov
Elaine Legg, Talking Book Coordinator, (701) 795-2711, elegg@nd.gov
Candy Lien, Braille Teacher, (701) 795-2719, cmlien@nd.gov
Lori Mattick, Regional Coordinator-Minot/Williston Regions, (701) 857-7635, lmattick@nd.gov
Paul Olson, Superintendent, (701) 795-2708, polson@nd.gov
Amy Osvold, Vision Rehabilitation Specialist - Western North Dakota, (701) 857-7634, abrunner@nd.gov
Tami Purcell, Business Manager, (701) 795-2707, tpurcell@nd.gov
Jesse Shirek, Vision Rehabilitation Specialist - SE North Dakota, (701) 795-2731, jshirek@nd.gov
Lanna Slaby, Outreach Teacher, (701) 253-3012, lslaby@nd.gov
Natasha Thomas, Music Therapist, (701) 795-2723, natthom@nd.gov
Mary Verlinde, Regional Coordinator-Bismarck/Dickinson Regions, (701) 328-3986, mverlind@nd.gov
Katrina Wendel, Vocational/Career Teacher, (701) 795-2716, kwendel@nd.gov
Laurie Westling, Computer & Networking Specialist, (701) 795-2710, lchaput@nd.gov
Tracy Wicken, Assistive Technology Teacher, (701) 795-2720, trwicken@nd.gov
Cindy Williams, Regional Coordinator-Grand Forks Region, (701) 795-2704, ckwillia@nd.gov

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Assistive Products
    • Sells adaptive devices. Products for sale on site and via mail.
  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • Braille evaluations and consultations are provided to individuals of any age who could benefit from a tactual method of communication.
  • Braille/Electronic/Audio/Large Print Production
    • Reports, programs and agendas, catalogs, flyers and brochures handouts, meeting minutes, letters and memos, ballots, training materials, books, directories, schedules, menus and many more.
  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Has a regionalized statewide outreach program.
  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • A state agency that serves all ages of visually impaired and blind individuals from North Dakota and NW Minnestoa
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides vision-specific center-based and outreach services. Provides instruction in daily living skills, functional vision, music, recreational/leisure, technology, and vocational/career development.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Provides training in transition, job development and job readiness, career planning, comprehensive vocational evaluation system.
  • Information and Referral
    • Operates a toll-free information and referral line; In-Service Training.
  • Low Vision Services
    • Provides low vision evaluation and follow-up. Offers resources and vision-specific instructions and adaptations for seniors; staff thst are employed to work specifically with adults.
  • Recreation Services
    • Offers recreation/leisure activities, including goal ball, beeper ball, and adaptations. Support and transportation to the Black Hills Regional Ski for Light event.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility training.
North Dakota Vision Services/School for the Blind, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.