New Mexico Commission for the Blind - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

New Mexico Commission for the Blind
2905 Rodeo Park Drive, East
Building 4, Suite 100
Santa Fe, NM 87505
(505) 476-4479 (Local)
(505) 476-4475 (Fax)
(888) 513-7968 (Toll-Free)
http://www.cfb.state.nm.us/

Brief Description

The mission of the New Mexico Commission for the Blind is to enable persons who are blind to achieve vocational, economic and social equality by providing career preparation, training in the skills of blindness and above all, promoting and conveying the belief that blindness is not a barrier to successful employment, or to living an independent and meaningful life.

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:00 AM-5:00 PM.
Clients served on average per year: 1,100
Staff description: Paid staff of 93, supplemented by 75 volunteer readers for the Newsline program.
Geographic area served: New Mexico
Publications: Annual Report

Locations

2905 Rodeo Park Drive East
Building 4, Suite 100
Santa Fe, NM 87505

2200 Yale Boulevard, S.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87106

2552-B Ridge Runner Road
Las Vegas, NM 87701

277 E. Amador, Suite 101
Las Cruces, NM 88001

400 North Pennsylvania, Suite 900
Roswell, NM 88201

408 North White Sands Boulevard
Alamogordo, NM 88310

3400 Messina Dr.
Suite 5000
Farmington, NM 87402

Staff

Lucy Alexander, Deputy Director, Adult Orientation Center, (575) 437-0401, Lucy.Alexander@state.nm.us
Kelly Burma, Skills Center and Technology for Children Coordinator, (505) 841-8844 32277, Kelly.Burma@state.nm.us
Curtis Chong, Manager of Assistive Technology, (505) 841-8844 32239, Curtis.Chong@state.nm.us
Monica Maestas, Deputy Director, Administrative Services, (505) 476-4454, Monica.Maestas@state.nm.us
Diana Martinez, Business Enterprise Manager, (505) 841-8844 32208, Diana.Martinez@state.nm.us
Krista Mireles, Manager, NEWSLINE Program, Krista.Mireles@state.nm.us
Daphne Mitchell, VR Program Manager, (505) 841-8844 32253, Daphne.Mitchell@state.nm.us
Virginia Murphy, OIB Program Manager, Virginia.Murphy@state.nm.us
James Salas, Deputy Director, Vocational Rehabilitation, (505) 841-8844 251, James.Salas@state.nm.us
Greg Trapp, Executive Director, Greg.Trapp@state.nm.us

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Assessment
    • Offers vocational rehabilitation assessment and technical assessment.
  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Conducts general outreach activities.
  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • Offers computer training.
  • Counseling
    • As part of vocational rehabilitation activities the Commission may , when warranted, referrals for to psychological testing and evaluation. Counselors provide individual counseling to consumers, and may contract/refer for consultation to other agencies on counseling/social work services.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides independent living training and counseling for those who are legally blind and who request same.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Provides pre-vocational evaluation, career and skill counseling, occupational skill development, job retention, job retraining, vocational placement, follow-up service, vending facility training and placement.
  • Information and Referral
    • Refers for counseling/social work services, other health services, and recreational services.
  • Reading Services
    • Newsline.
  • Recreation Services
    • Offers recreational activities (hiking, rock climbing, and swimming) in conjunction with Orientation Center and student summer program. The student summer program and the VR program serves individuals 14 years of age and older.
New Mexico Commission for the Blind, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.