Future In Sight - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Future In Sight
25 Walker Street
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 224-4039 (Local)
(603) 224-4378 (Fax)
Services@futureinsight.org
http://www.futureinsight.org

Brief Description

Future In Sight, formerly New Hampshire Association for the Blind, is the statewide leader in providing vision rehabilitation services for New Hampshire people of all ages who are blind and visually impaired. Founded in 1912, it provides services in virtually every community statewide and at the McGreal Sight Center in Concord.

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:00 AM-4:30 PM. Some weekend programming
Clients served on average per year: 1900
Number of staff: 32
Staff description: Professional client services staff include clinical social worker, social worker, social worker intern, caseworker, low vision therapists, rehabilitation teachers, rehabilitation teaching assistants, O&M trainers, technology consultant, volunteer administrator, teachers of visually impaired. Support staff include: Administrative staff and Development staff.
Geographic area served: All communities in the state of New Hampshire.
Publications: Website - www.futureinsight.org; Newsletters and Annual Report.

Staff

Denise Caruso, A.A.S., COA, VRT, Low Vision Therapist/ Vision Rehabilitation Therapist, dcaruso@sightcenter.org
Marcia Clark, Marketing & Executive Relations Manager, (603) 565-2425, mclark@sightcenter.org
Nancy Druke, M.S.W., LICSW, Vice President for Program Services, (603) 565-2411, ndruke@sightcenter.org
Nathalie Fortier, Vice President for Finance & Administration, (603) 565-2422, nfortier@sightcenter.org
David Morgan, President & CEO, (603) 565-2423, dmorgan@sightcenter.org
Jewett O'Connor, M.Ed., COMS, CVRT, Vision Rehabilitation Therapist/Orientation & Mobility Specialist, joconnor@sightcenter.org
Susan Sherry, M.Ed., COMS, Orientation & Mobility Specialist, ssherry@sightcenter.org
Nancy Wittmershaus, B.S., COMS, Director of Ed Services, (603) 565-2405, nwittmershaus@sightcenter.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Assistive Products
    • Maintains a technical aids store (low-tech) and an inventory of assistive aids (high tech) for demonstration, assessment and training.
  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Provides community-based rehabilitative services statewide; includes all core services.
  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • Technology Training and Workshop for Adults and Seniors.
  • Counseling
    • Provides intake and referral, individual and group counseling, peer support groups.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides training in daily living skills, communication skills. Offers preventive rehabilitation for those at risk for blindness.
  • In-Home Services
    • In-Home Community Visitors and/or Drivers provide needed support to clients in their own communities.
  • Information and Referral
    • Provides consultation on specialized rehabilitation services, promotes public education and prevention of blindness within New Hampshire. Provides referrals to all available networks of service providers.
  • Low Vision Services
    • Provides low vision evaluation and follow-up. Prescribes and supplies low vision devices. Services provided at McGreal Sight Center and community-based clinics.
  • Services for Seniors
    • All services are available for Seniors. Seventy-five percent of clients are age 60 and older.
  • Support Groups
    • Offers peer support groups.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Involves specialized training on a one-to-one basis to help an individual develop safe independent travel skills and learn new routes and environments.

Job Postings

9/25/2017 Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments (TVI)

Future In Sight, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.