Living Independence for Everyone - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Living Independence for Everyone
5105 Paulsen Street Suite 143-B
Savannah, GA 31405
(912) 920-2414 (Local)
(912) 920-0007 (Fax)
bmcgarry@lifecil.com
http://www.lifecil.com

Brief Description

LIFE, Inc. is a non profit service and advocacy organization run by and for people with disabilities. We are a non-profit, non-residential organization that assists people, regardless of age or type of disability, to make their own informed decisions and to control and direct their own lives. Our mission is to promote independent living and advance community change for people with disabilities to create a world in which EVERYONE can fully participate. LIFE embraces and adheres to the independent living philosophy. This philosophy is based on the core independent living concepts of consumer control, self advocacy, community change, cross disability participation and the core Independent Living services of Information and Referral, Peer Support, IL Skills Training, Advocacy and Promoting Full Access to Community Life.

Hours of operation: 9:00 AM-5:00 PM.
Clients served on average per year: 250
Number of staff: 9
Staff description: LIFE is an organization run by people with disabilities for people with disabilities. Over 51% of our employees and board members are people with disabilities.
Geographic area served: Chatham, Bulloch, Bryan, Evans, Camden, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Tattnall, Toombs, and McIntosh Counties.
Publications: E-newsletters

Locations

5105 Paulsen Street
Suite 143-B
5105 Paulsen Street
Savannah, GA 31405

Staff

Shawana Bulloch, Independent Living Coordinator, (912) 920-2414, sbulloch@lifecil.com
Susan Dawson, Independent Living Coordinator, (912) 920-2414, sdawson@lifecil.com
Denise Howard, Independent Living Coordinator, (912) 920-2414, dhoward@lifecil.com
Megan Latter, Independent Living Coordinator, (912) 920-2414, mlatter@lifecil.com
Jessica Mathis, Peer Support Coordinator, (912) 920-2414, jmathis@lifecil.com
Bob McGarry, Executive Director, (912) 920-2414, bmcgarry@lifecil.com
Mark Swift, Independent Living Coordinator, (912) 920-2414, mswift@lifecil.com
Fran Todd, Development Director, (912) 920-2414, ftodd@lifecil.com
Kelsey Ustrud, Independent Living Coordinator, (912) 920-2414, kustrud@lifecil.com

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Braille/Electronic/Audio/Large Print Production
    • Offers a variety of opportunities for businesses to provide their customers with materials in accessible formats such as braille, large print and audio.
  • Counseling
    • Offers peer support.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides training in independent living skills.
  • Information and Referral
    • Provides information on issues involving people with disabilities, such as independent living issues; disability rights; legislation on local, state and federal levels; and services available from other organizations.
Living Independence for Everyone, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.