Lighthouse of the Big Bend - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Lighthouse of the Big Bend
3071 Highland Oaks Terrace
Tallahassee, FL 32301
(850) 942-3658 (Local)
(850) 942-4518 (Fax)
(888) 827-6033 (Toll-Free)
info@lighthousebigbend.org
http://www.lighthousebigbend.org

Brief Description

Lighthouse of the Big Bend (formerly FIRE) is a nonprofit agency dedicated to assisting people who are visually impaired or blind to achieve a maximum level of independence in their lives. Free services are provided on an outreach (one on one) or group basis and are provided without charge, without regard to individual or family income level, race, creed, age, disability or national origin.

Lighthouse of the Big Bend serves eleven counties including Franklin, Gadsden, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor and Wakulla.

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:00 AM-5:00 PM.
Clients served on average per year: 385
Number of staff: 15
Staff description: Independent Living Specialists (CVRT), Assistive Technology Instructor, O&M instructors (COMS), Vocational Services Specialists, TVI's.
Geographic area served: Franklin, Gadsen, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Suwanee, Taylor, and Wakulla Counties.

Locations

3071 Highland Oaks Terrace
Tallahassee, FL 32301

Staff

Jennifer Crowder, Youth Programs Specialist, jcrowder@lighthousebigbend.org
Simone Cunningham, Chief Operations Officer, (850) 942-3658 219, scunningham@lighthousebigbend.org
Stacie Davis, Youth Programs/Orientation & Mobility Specialist, sdavis@lighthousebigbend.org
Kim Galbán-Countryman, MPA, Executive Director, kgalban@lighthousebigbend.org
Alexis Read, Adult Programs Specialist, aread@lighthousebigbend.org
Sharon Scherbarth, Youth Programs/ Orientation & Mobility Specialist, sscherbarth@lighthousebigbend.org
Wayne Warner, Director of Adult Programs, wwarner@lighthousebigbend.org
Evelyn Worley, Director of Curriculum & Professional Development, (850) 942-3658 203, eworley@lighthousebigbend.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • Offers beginning and Grade 2 braille classes.
  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • Whether you need screen enlargement or speech access to your computer, the Lighthouse can teach you about adaptive computer software. Learn keyboard skills, Internet access, email, word processing and spreadsheet skills. Individual instruction or small classes are offered on a variety of computer programs. The Lighthouse facility also has an employment computer lab.
  • Counseling
    • Offers social evaluation; counseling for individual/group/couples; and support groups.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides training in daily living and communication skills.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Provides independent living skills, social skills, employment skills and computer training at home or job site.
  • Recreation Services
    • Offers hobby groups and special programs for the elderly.
  • Support Groups
    • Offers support groups.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility training.
Lighthouse of the Big Bend, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.