Illinois Department of Human Services/Division of Rehabilitation Services: Bureau of Blind Services & Business Enterprise Program for the Blind - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Illinois Department of Human Services/Division of Rehabilitation Services: Bureau of Blind Services & Business Enterprise Program for the Blind
Bureau of Customer Support and Services
100 South Grand Avenue East
Springfield, IL 62762
(217) 785-3887 (Local)
(217) 524-1234 (Fax)
(800) 447-6404 (TDD/TTY)
DHS.ORS@illinois.gov
http://www.dhs.state.il.us/page.aspx?item=32305

Brief Description

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:30 AM-5:00 PM.
Geographic area served: Illinois.

Locations

100 West Randolph
Suite 8-100
Region 1
Chicago, IL 60601

1010 Dixie Highway
4th Floor
Region 1
Chicago Heights, IL 60411

707 E. Wood Street
Region 4
Decatur, IL 62523

535 West Jefferson-1st floor
Region 4
Springfield, IL 62702

1151 South Wood Street
ICRE-Wood
Region 1
Chicago, IL 60612

1429 South Main
Suite C
Region 4
Jacksonville, IL 62650

2901 Finley Road
Suite 109
Region 2
Downers Grove, IL 60515

342 North Street, Suite D
Region 5
Murphysboro, IL 62966

10 West 35th Street
4th Floor
Region 1
Chicago, IL 60616

333 Potomac Blvd., Suite F
Region 5
Mt. Vernon, IL 62864

4711 44th Street, Suite 3
Region 3
Rock Island, IL 61201

2301 N.E. Adams Street, Suite C
Region 3
Peoria, IL 61603

1307 North Mattis Avenue
Region 3
Champaign, IL 61821

601 South High Street
Region 5
Belleville, IL 62220

107 North 3rd Street
Region 2
Rockford, IL 61107

8840 South Stony Island - Avalon Park
Region 1
Chicago, IL 60617

361 Old Indian Trail
Region 2
Aurora, IL 60506

2753 West North Avenue, 3rd floor
Humboldt Park
Region 1
Chicago, IL 60647

8620 South Pulaski Road
Wrightwood
Region 1
Chicago, IL 60652

715 West Algonquin Road, Suite A
Region 1
Chicago, IL 60005

129 North 15th Street
Region 4
Mattoon, IL 61938

606 West St. Louis Avenue
Region 5
East Alton, IL 62024

ICRE-WOOD School
1151 South Wood
Chicago, Illinois 60612
Region 1A
Chicago, IL 60612

Bureau of Blind Services-Administrative Office
Business Enterprise Program for the Blind
809 Commercial Avenue
Springfield, IL 62703

Staff

Luz Agosto, Labor Relations Specialist, (312) 793-2782, Luz.A.Agosto@illinois.gov
Nicole Argue, Rehabilitation Counselor, (708) 709-3333, Nicole.Argue@Illinois.gov
James Baske, Rehabilitation Counselor, (309) 686-6000, James.Baske@Illinois.gov
Wilmann Belhomme, Program Specialist-Business Enterprise Program for the Blind, (217) 785-3887, Wilmann.Belhomme@Illinois.gov
Misty Bell, Rehabilitation Counselor, (630) 892-7417, Misty.Bell@Illinois.gov
Joyce Brewers, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (217) 245-9585, joyce.brewers@illinois.com
Lisa Brink, Rehabilitation Counselor, (618) 244-0331, Lisa.Brink@Illinois.gov
Pat Brown, Regional Supervisor, (217) 278-3500, Pat.Kramer-Brown@illinois.gov
Kay Chambers, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (217) 245-9585, kay.chambers@illinois.gov
Kenneth Coleman, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3520, Kenneth.Coleman@illinois.gov
Cindy Colon, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3525, cindy.colon@illinois.gov
Randall Cook, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (630) 892-7417 212, randall.cook@illinois.com
Regina Cook-Glanton, Regional Supervisor, (815) 967-3725, Regina.Glanton@Illinois.gov
Matt Cunningham, Supervisor-BEPB, (217) 785-3887, Matt.Cunningham@Illinois.gov
Alan Dorsz, Business Counselor, (312) 633-1760, alan.dorsz@illinois.gov
Josh Dugan, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (217) 782-4830, josh.dugan@illinois.gov
Kathy Dyson, Rehabilitation Counselor, (217) 245-9585, Kathy.Dyson@Illinois.gov
Rhonda Erickson, Rehabilitation Counselor, (309) 786-6468, Rhonda.Erickson@Illinois.gov
Susan Fehrenbacher, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (618) 565-2838, susan.fehrenbacher@illinois.gov
Ben Gamino, Business Counselor, (312) 633-1767, Ben.Gamino@illinois.gov
James Green, Rehabilitation Counselor, (630) 495-0050, James.Green@Illinois.gov
Antonine (Toni) Grimes, Admnistrative Assistant, (312) 814-1518, antonine.grimes@illinois.gov
Nelson Grinnage, Property Control Coordinator, (312) 633-3520, nelson.grinnage@illinois.gov
Scott Hollenberg, Rehabilitation Counselor, (217) 278-3500, Cammeron.Hollenberg@Illinois.gov
Laura Hollern, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (217) 278-3500, laura.hollern@illinois.gov
Latisha Houston, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-1724, latisha.houston@illinois.gov
Bernard jenkins, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (708) 709-3331, bernard.jenkins@illinois.gov
Rick Jorgensen, Trainer, (312) 633-3511, rick.jorgensen@illinois.com
Thomas Lamm, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3520, Thomas.Lamm@illinois.gov
Mark Lewis, Business Counselor, (312) 633-1757, mark.lewis@illinois.gov
Linda Lou Long, Program Advisor, (217) 558-2326, Linda-Long.Long@illinois.gov
Elizabeth Mann, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (815) 967-3719, elizabeth.mann@illinois.gov
Carrollyn Mckinstry, Rehabilitation Counselor, (815) 967-3725, Carrollyn.McKinstry@Illinois.gov
Mary Merdian-Bender, Business Counselor, (217) 785-3887, mary.merdian-bender@illinois.gov
Mae Michels, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3520, Mae.Michels@illinois.gov
Larry Miller, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 328-2917, larry.miller@illinois.com
Migdalia Morales, Rehabilitation Counselor, (773) 292-4400, migdalia.morales@illinois.gov
Martha Morris, Rehabilitation Counselor, (773) 768-6700, martha.morris@illinois.gov
Kimberly Nosbisch, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (217) 235-3154, kimberly.nosbisch@illinois.gov
Bettye Odem-Davis, Bureau Chief-Bureau of Blind Services, (312) 814-3323, bettye.odem-davis@illinois.gov
Juan Ortez, Rehabilitation Counselor, (312) 633-4067, juan.ortez@illinois.gov
Deirdre Parrott, Regional Supervisor, (312) 633-3506, deirdre.parrot@illinois.gov
Derrick Phillips, Superintendent, (312) 633-3532, Derrick.Phillips@illinois.gov
Raven Pulliam, Assistant Bureau Chief, (217) 785-3887, raven.pilliam@illinois.gov
Elaine Pultman, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (618) 258-9996 447, elaine.pultman@illinois.gov
John Reed, Manager-BEPB, (312) 633-3766, john.reed@illinois.gov
Richard Regan, Regional Supervisor, (217) 782-4830, richard.regan@illinois.gov
Loma Rhoades, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3520, Loma.Rhoades@illinois.gov
Michelle Saddler, Secretary, Department of Human Services, (217) 557-1601
Tiana Sanders, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (618) 241-6889
Bradley Schnell, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (847) 758-3483, bradley.schnell@illinois.gov
Nancy Schultz, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3547, Nancy.Schultz@illinois.gov
Debra Scott, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (630) 495-0500 245, debra.scott@illinois.gov
Gina Shanks, Rehabilitation Counselor, (312) 328-2900
Janet Sherburne, Senior Public Service Administrator and Assistant Bureau Chief, Bureau of Blind Services, (312) 633-3520, Janet.Sherburne@illinois.gov
Linda Suits, Rehabilitation Counselor, (217) 782-4830, Linda.Suits@Illinois.gov
Delores Thomas, Rehabilitation Counselor, (773) 838-5070, Delores.thomas@illinois.gov
Betty Van Tassel, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (815) 967-3725 3720, betty.vantassel@illinois.gov
Mary Watkins, Rehabilitation Counselor, (847) 758-3483, Mary.Watkins@illinois.gov
Angela Welton, Rehabilitation Counselor, (217) 362-6509, Angela.Welton@Illinois.gov
Judy West, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (217) 278-3500, judy.west@illinois.com
Barbara Wichner, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3520, Barbara.Wichner@illinois.gov
Lou Ann Williams, Program Specialist, (217) 785-3887, louann.Williams@illinois.gov
Kristina Willis, Business Counselor, (312) 633-1766, kristina.willis@illinois.com
Donnishia Winfrey, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (630) 892-7417
Kimberly Woods, Rehabilitation Mobility Instructor, (312) 633-3520, Kimberly.Woods@illinois.gov
Charles Young, Business Counselor, (312) 633-3520, charles.young@illinois.gov

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Assessment
    • Determines current needs and skill levels of clients.
  • Counseling
    • Offers counseling, referrals, support to visually impaired individuals and family members.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides training in skills of daily living. Offers programs for individuals age 55 or older needing training in self-care, household management and care, and adjusting/adapting to visual loss so they may continue to live independently within their own homes and communities. Provides other necessary services in whole or in part (depending upon similar benefits and other resources) by the department.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Offers career and skill counseling, prevocational evaluation, career preparation training, vocational placement. Has programs available for individuals with severe visual impairments who are seeking to regain, retain or gain employment in the competitive labor market.
  • Information and Referral
    • Provides general information about blindness and visual impairment, and referrals to sources of other information.
  • Low Vision Services
    • Provides low vision evaluation and follow-up. Prescribes and supplies low vision devices.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility instruction in a community-based or residential setting.
Illinois Department of Human Services/Division of Rehabilitation Services: Bureau of Blind Services & Business Enterprise Program for the Blind, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.