Center for the Blind & Visually Impaired - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Center for the Blind & Visually Impaired
1721 Westwind Drive
Suite B
Bakersfield, CA 93301
(661) 322-5234 (Local)
(661) 322-1176 (Fax)
inquiries@acecares.org
http://www.cbvi.org

Brief Description

The Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired (CBVI) was founded in 1950 as a volunteer-run organization for braille education and recreational activities. Today, CBVI's mission is to provide rehabilitation programs for greater independence to adults who are blind or visually impaired.

Hours of operation: Mon.-Fri. 8:00 AM-5:00 PM.
Clients served on average per year: 85
Number of staff: 7
Staff description: Certified O&M instructors, professional rehabilitation teacher, computer instructor, and low vision consultant.
Geographic area served: Kern County
Publications: Inner Vision (newsletter).

Staff

Raye Bugnosen, Director of Programs and Client Services, raye@acares.org
Justin Cave, Executive Director, jcave@acecares.org
Dane Geer, Computer Technology Instructor, dgeer@acecares.org
Nancy Hill, Adjustment to Vision Loss Instructor, nhill@acecares.org
Stan Scharry, O&M Instructor, sscharry@acecares.org
Michelle Smith, Independent Living Skills Instructor, msmith@acecares.org
Carla Woorley, Braille Instructor, cwoorley@acecares.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Assistive Products
    • Distributes low vision devices, canes, talking watches and clocks, large-print cards, puzzles and cookbooks, magnifiers, and handcrafted gifts. Products for sale on site.
  • Community Outreach Programs
    • Provides training to care providers and acts as resource for local senior centers, convalescent homes, and retirement centers.
  • Computer Training/Assistive Technology
    • Offers computer training.
  • Counseling
    • Provides support groups, including emotional support and practical advice for living with vision loss.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • Provides training in independent living skills.
  • Information and Referral
    • Connects consumers to other organizations and agencies to provide additional assistance. Provides referrals for low vision services.
  • Library Services
    • Maintains a library of descriptive videos, books on tape, and braille materials.
  • Recreation Services
    • Offers arts and crafts and field trips.
  • Support Groups
    • Offers support groups for adults.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Provides orientation and mobility training.
Center for the Blind & Visually Impaired, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.