Colorado Center for the Blind - AFB Directory Profile

General Information

Colorado Center for the Blind
2233 W. Shepperd Avenue
Littleton, CO 80120
(303) 778-1130 (Local)
ccb@cocenter.org
http://www.cocenter.org

Brief Description

Since 1988, the Colorado Center for the Blind (CCB) has been providing comprehensive training to blind persons so that they can lead independent lives as fully integrated, productive members of society. CCB offers an innovative teaching model founded on the philosophy of the National Federation of the Blind, emphasizing positive attitudes about blindness and role modeling by blind professionals. The Colorado Center for the Blind is committed to changing the experience of older blind and visually impaired persons from frustration to independence. With education and training these seniors can obtain the skills and confidence necessary to stay in their own homes and be contributing members of society.

Hours of operation: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Mountain Time, Monday through Friday
Number of staff: 21
Geographic area served: U.S. & International

Staff

Tom Anderson, Braille Instructor, tanderson@cocenter.org
Julie Deden, Executive Director, jdeden@cocenter.org
Chip Johnson, Technology Instructor, cjohnson@cocenter.org
Petr Kucheryavyy, Employment Specialist, pkucheryavyy@cocenter.org
Kimberley Mccutcheon, Director of Career & Student Services, kmccutcheon@cocenter.org
Monique Melton, Cane Travel Instructor, mmelton@cocenter.org
David Nietfeld, Cane Travel Instructor, dnietfeld@cocenter.org
Steve Patten, Cane Travel Instructor, spatten@cocenter.org
Jennifer Spears, Braille Instructor, jspears@cocenter.org
Carol Sprague, Administrative Coordinator, csprague@cocenter.org

Services Offered

Services for Adults

  • Braille and Reading Instruction
    • Offers braille instruction.
  • Daily Living Skills/Independent Living Skills Training
    • The Independence Training Program (ITP) serves adults of all ages locally, nationally and worldwide. Whether you have recently lost your vision or always have been blind our program will fit your needs. ITP provides training in orientation and mobility, braille, technology, home management, and other classes. This residential program has an average length of six to nine months.
  • Employment/Job Training
    • Job class covers all aspects of vocational development including career exploration, resumes, interviewing, and work ethics. Students will also have the opportunities for situational assessments, job shadows, and internships.
  • Recreation Services
    • We want our students to know that being blind does not need to limit them. Blind people can live full, well-rounded lives. Students go rock climbing, hike in the mountains, ski, plant a garden, raft down the beautiful Colorado or Arkansas River and do much more. Being blind can be challenging in itself and, in order to be successful, we as blind people need to challenge ourselves.
  • Services for Seniors
    • The Colorado Center for the Blind is committed to changing the experience of older blind and visually impaired persons from frustration to independence. With education and training these seniors can obtain the skills and confidence necessary to stay in their own homes and be contributing members of society.
  • Support Groups
    • Many seniors who begin to lose their vision find that it is helpful to discuss this with others who have experienced the same loss. An independent and confident older blind individual facilitates support groups. Through this process visually impaired persons learn that they can continue to do many of the same things they did when fully sighted.
  • Travel/Orientation and Mobility
    • Offers orientation and mobility training.
Colorado Center for the Blind, is this page missing one of your services, events, programs, or announcements? Update your information for free.

Join Our Mission

Help us expand our resources for people with vision loss.